3 Indian singles players and 2 doubles pair qualify for the World Tour Finals

By Soumik Banerjee

HSBC BWF World Tour Finals is all set to begin from December 1. The top eight players and pairs in every category including the Olympics Gold medalists have qualified for the event.

20-year-old Lakshya Sen will become the youngest Indian shutter to compete at the World Tour Finals.

Lakshya, currently ranked 5th in the world tour rankings, had an impressive season and will make his debut at the event. Kidambi Srikanth ranked 4th in Tour rankings is the other event to have qualified in the men’s singles event.

India’s ace shuttler PV Sindhu will be India’s hope in Women’s Singles while the pair of Ashwini Ponnappa and N Sikki Reddy will fight it out in the Women’s doubles. This will be the first time when an Indian Women’s doubles pair will feature in the event.

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty have also qualified in men’s doubles events. They are the first Indian men’s doubles duo to achieve the feat.

Srikanth, Sameer Verma, Saina Nehwal and PV Sindhu have previously competed in the tournament. Back in 2018, PV Sindhu became the first and only Indian shuttler to ever win the title. While Saina has reached the finals, Srikanth and Verma made it to the semis.

Indian challenge at Indonesia Open ends


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button