Bangladesh names squad for T20 World Cup

Bangladesh announced their squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup on Thursday. Mahmudullah will lead the Tigers who have just picked up series victories over Australia and New Zealand on home soil.

Bangladesh will miss the services of veteran Tamim Iqbal who has pulled out of the tournament.

Skipper Mahmudullah, star allrounder Shakib Al Hasan and wicketkeeper-batsman Mushifqur Rahim will be featuring in the showpiece event for the seventh time. Experienced pacer Rubel Hossain has been named as reserve player alongside leg spinner Aminul Islam.

Bangladesh is placed in Group B alongside Oman, Papua New Guinea, and Scotland and they need to finish in the top two to qualify for the Super 12 stage.

The full squad is as follows:

Squad: Mahmudullah Riad (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Kumar Das, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Naim, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shamim Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shoriful Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed.

Reserves: Aminul Islam, Rubel Hossain


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button