Baroda enters quarterfinals; Rishi Dhawan keeps Himachal Pradesh hopes alive

Baroda vs Gujarat

All round performance from Baroda team booked their birth in the quarter finals of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Put into bat first, Baroda managed to get 176 runs on the board courtsey of Vishnu Solanki’s unbeaten 59 (33) and Abhimanyu Rajput’s 34 (17). Guajrat skipper Axar Patel took two wickets for just 13 runs in his four overs.

In reply, Gujarat started well But unfortunately once the 60-run opening stand was broken when wicket keeper batsman Dhruv Raval( 41 from 27 ball) was run out by Babashafi Pathan, they lost their way. After getting the break through, Baroda bowlers got in control of the game and started to strike in regular intervals. Captain Axar Patel kept his side in the match but his effort with the bat wasn’t enough. Gujarat was restricted to 164. Ninad Rathva was the pick of the bowlers as he took 3 wickets in only one over he bowled.

Himachal Pradesh vs Maharashtra

Captain Rishi Dhawan’s all round performance keeps Himachal Pradesh’s quarter finals dreams alive.

After opting to bat first, Maharashtra batsman could only manage 117 . Rishi Dhawan and Pankaj Jaiswal took 3 and 2 wickets respectively. Ruturaj Gaikwad 33 (31) was the highest scorer for Maharashtra.

Himachal Pradesh had a poor start and were struggling at 50-6. Then Captain Rishi Dhawan and Ayush Jamwal stiched an unbeaten match-winning 71-run partnership for the seventh wicket and chased down the target with 7 balls to spare. Rishi Dhawan scored 61*(48 ) with 7 fours and 1 maximum. Azim Kazi and Pradeep Dhadhe both took two wickets each.

With this win, Himchal Pradesh finished the Group C on the second position with 16 points in their bag.

Chattisgarh vs Uttarakhand

In the final match of group C, Chattisgarh registered their first victory of the campaign as they beat Uttarakhand in super over.

Put into bat first, Uttarakhand posted a total of 167 runs on the board courtsey of Jay Gokul Bista’s 92 off 60. Sourabh Majumder took a 3 fer for Chattisgarh.

In reply, Chattisgarh also ended up at 167 overs with handy contributions from Vishal Kuswah 37(21) and Ajay Mondal 29 (12). Agrim Tiwari, A Madhwal and Mayank Mishra took 2 wickets each.

Chattisgarh Captain Harpeet Singh scored 15 runs off 5 balls in the super over as Chattisgarh gave Uttarkhand a target of 16 runs. Ajay Mondal conceded only 3 runs to help Chattisgarh register their first victory in the tournament.

Brief Scores:

Gujarat vs Baroda

Baroda 176/4 in 20 overs (Vishnu Solanki 59* (33); Axar Patel 4-0-13-2)

Gujarat 164 /9 in 20 overs (Dhruv Raval 41 (27); Ninad Rathva 1-0-4-3)

Baroda won by 12 runs

Himachal Pradesh vs Maharashtra

Maharashtra 117/9 in 20 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 33(31); Rishi Dhawan 4-0-22-3)

Himachal Pradesh 121/6 in 18.5 overs (Rishi Dhawan 62*(48); Azim Kazi 4-0-10-2)

Himachal Pradesh won by 4 wickets

Chattisgarh vs Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand 167/8 in 20 overs (Jay Gokul Bista 92 (60); Sourabh Majumder 4-0-35-3)

Chattisgarh 167/9 in 20 overs (Vishal Kushwah 37 (21) ; A Madhwal 4-0-17-2)

In Super over

Chattisgarh 15/1(Harpreet Singh 15 (5); A Madhwal 1-0-15-1)

Uttarakhand 3-0 (Jay Gokul Bista 2 (2); Ajay Mondal 1-0-3-0)

Chattisgarh won in Super over


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button