FIH awards 2020/21 – Indians nominated in all categories

FIH on Monday has announced the final nominations for the FIH Hockey star awards 2020/21. For the first time, India has nominations in all the given categories, thanks to their excellent performance at the Tokyo Olympics.

Award categories:

Best Player:

Men – Harmanpreet Singh

Harmanpreet has been nominated in the best player category along with 3 Australians and 2 Belgians. Harmanpreet played a key role for India in Tokyo. He was the highest goal scorer for India.

Women – Gurjit Kaur

Gurjit was the highest goal scorer for India in Tokyo. The defender has scored 64 goals for India in just 95 appearances. She has been nominated for this award along with 3 Dutch and 2 Argentine players.

Rising star:

Men – Vivek Sagar Prasad

Vivek has been nominated for this award for the second consecutive year. Having won this award last time, he was nominated again along with Mustappa Cassiem of RSA and Sean Findlay of New Zealand.

Women – Sharmila Devi

19-year old Sharmila has been nominated in this category alongside Valentina Raposo of Argentina and Fiona Crackles of England. Last time Lalremsiami had won this award.

Best Goalkeeper:

Men – PR Sreejesh

For the 3rd time, Sreejesh has been nominated for this award. Sreejesh had a wonderful outing in Tokyo and played a crucial role in India’s bronze medal-winning campaign. The other two nominees are Andrew Charter of Australia and Vincent Vanash of Belgium.

Women – Savita

Savita has been nominated for the award after her brilliant performance in Tokyo. She played an important role in India’s first-ever semi-final appearance at Olympics. She has been nominated along side Belen Succi of Argentina and Maddie Hinch of England.

Best Coach:

Men – Graham Reid

Women – Sjoerd Marijne 

Under Graham, Indian men’s won a medal in Olympics after 41 years and reached their highest ever FIH ranking.

Under Sjoerd, Indian women’s hockey not only achieved their best-ever ranking but also made it to the semi-final of the Olympics for the first time.

Fans can cast their vote by clicking the below link:







Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

This will close in 10 seconds