Hockey India names 20-member Indian Men’s Team for the FIH Hockey Pro League 2022/2023 in Rourkela

New Delhi, 27 February 2023: Hockey India on Monday named the 20-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team who will take on World Champions Germany and World No. 4 Australia in the upcoming FIH Hockey Pro League matches in Rourkela.

The Indian Team will be Captained by experienced campaigner Harmanpreet Singh, who led the Indian team to crucial victories as skipper during the FIH Men’s Hockey Pro League 2022/2023 matches against Spain and New Zealand in October and November last year. Hardik Singh has been named as the Vice-Captained of the team.

The 20-member team includes experienced goalkeeper PR Sreejesh, and young and skillful Pawan replacing Krishan Bahadur Pathak who has sought personal leave on the occasion of his marriage.

The defence will be led by Harmanpreet Singh, Jugraj Singh, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Jarmanpreet Singh, Sumit, Manjeet, and Manpreet Singh.

The midfielders include Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Moirangthem Rabichandra Singh, Vishnukant Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Shamsher Singh, and Raj Kumar Pal.

The forwardline will feature S Karthi, Sukhjeet Singh, Abhishek, and Gurjant.

David John and BJ Kariappa have been named as the interim Coaches along with Shivendra Singh for the Indian Men’s Hockey Team for the upcoming FIH Men’s Hockey Pro League 2022/23 matches.

Those players who have not been selected have been relieved from the National Coaching Camp to play the 3rd Hockey India Senior Men Inter-Department National Championships 2023 which began in Bengaluru on Sunday, 26th February.

Meanwhile, the 20-member Indian team for the FIH Hockey Pro League will continue to train in SAI, Bengaluru till 6th March before they move to Rourkela for the prestigious league.

“The National Selectors have chosen a young team who are making good progress on the international stage. They will be well-guided by the presence of senior players who have extensive international experience playing for India. At the FIH Hockey Pro League in Rourkela, the team will play under interim Coaches until Hockey India announces the new Chief Coach,” stated Hockey India President Padma Shri Dr. Dilip Tirkey.

On March 10th, India will take on Germany in the first match, followed by Germany playing against Australia on March 11th. On March 12th, India and Australia will go head-to-head, while on March 13th, India will play against Germany for the second time. On March 14th, the spotlight will be on Germany and Australia, and the final match in Rourkela will take place on March 15th, with India playing against Australia for the second time. All matches will be held at 1900 hours IST.

Indian Men’s Hockey Team for the FIH Hockey Pro League 2022/2023:


1. Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran

2. Pawan


3. Harmanpreet Singh (C)

4. Jugraj Singh

5. Nilam Sanjeep Xess

6. Jarmanpreet Singh

7. Sumit

8. Manjeet

9. Manpreet Singh


10. Hardik Singh (V/C)

11. Vivek Sagar Prasad

12. Moirangthem Rabichandra Singh

13. Vishnukant Singh

14. Dilpreet Singh

15. Shamsher Singh

16. Raj Kumar Pal


17. S. Karthi

18. Sukhjeet Singh

19. Abhishek

20. Gurjant Singh


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

This will close in 10 seconds