ICC announced groups for 2022 T20 World Cup qualifiers

By Amit Shukla

ICC announced groups for the 2022 T20 World Cup qualifiers on Tuesday. The 16 qualified teams have been divided into 2 groups of 8 teams each with Top 2 from both groups qualifying for the 2022 T20 World Cup. The 4 qualifiers will join Sri Lanka, West Indies, Scotland and Namibia in the qualifying round with top 2 from both groups, making it to the Super 12 round.

Scotland and Namibia had already qualified for 2022 T20 World Cup by virtue of qualifying for the Super 12 stage in this year’s T20 World Cup. While Ireland, Oman, PNG and Netherlands were relegated to playing the qualifying tournament.

Zimbabwe, UAE, Nepal and Singapore, who were the highest ranked T20I teams not featuring in this years T20 World Cup, got automatic entries to the qualifiers by their rankings. The remaining 8 teams, were joined by the regional qualifiers.

The 16 teams have now been divided into 2 groups. Group A consists of Bahrain, Canada, Germany, Ireland, Nepal, Philippines, UAE and Oman. Oman will host the tournament which is scheduled to be played from 15-25 February 2022

Group B includes Hong Kong, Jersey, Netherlands, PNG, Singapore, Uganda, USA and Zimbabwe. The tournament will take in place Zimbabwe from 8-18 July 2022.

Asia Youth Para Games: Indian para shuttlers win 16 medals; Palak, Sanjana, Hardik clinch three each


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

This will close in 10 seconds