Indian badminton squads for Commonwealth Games, Asian Games, Thomas & Uber Cup announced

Badminton Association of India (BAI) on Thursday announced the Indian squads for the upcoming Thomas & Uber Cup, Commonwealth Games and Asian Games.

The squad was announced after the selection trials at the Indira Gandhi Stadium which were going on in New Delhi ended on Wednesday.

Priyanshu Rajawat won the men’s singles event while Aakarshi Kashyap won the women’s singles competition. MR Arjun – Dhruv Kapila emerged as winners in the men’s doubles, Treesa Jolly – Gayatri Gopichand topped the rankings in women’s doubles and Ashwini Ponnappa – B Sumeeth Reddy finished on top in the mixed doubles.

Kidambi Srikanth and Lakshya Sen in the men’s singles, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy – Chirag Shetty in the men’s doubles, PV Sindhu in women’s singles were given direct entry in all the tournaments. HS Prannoy was picked directly for the Thomas Cup & Asian Games squads.

The 32nd edition of Thomas Cup and 29th Uber Cup are scheduled from May 8-15 in Bangkok. 2022 Commonwealth Games begin in Birmingham from July 28 while 2022 Asian Games will take place on Hangzhou respectively from September 10.

The full Indian Squads are as follows:

Commonwealth Games:

Men: Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikanth, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Chirag Shetty and B Sumeeth Reddy.

Women: PV Sindhu, Aakarshi Kashyap, Treesa Jolly, Gayatri P, Ashwini Ponappa.

Asian Games and Thomas & Uber Cup:

Men: Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikanth, HS Prannoy, Priyanshu Rajawat, Chirag Shetty, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Dhruv Kapila, MR Arjun, Vishnu Vardhan Goud, Krishna Prasad Garaga.

Women: PV Sindhu, Aakarshi Kashyap, Ashmita Chaliha, Unnati Hooda, Treesa Jolly, Gayatri P, N Sikki Reddy, Ashwini Ponappa, Tanisha Crasto and Shruti Mishra.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button