SMAT 2021: Karnataka prevails in a thriller; Punjab stays on top of Group ‘A’ with a 10-wicket win

Karnataka vs Railways

In an intense finish to a tight game, Aniruddha Joshi helped his side get over the line with his amazing knock of 64 not out off 40 balls.

Chasing 153, Karnataka kept losing wickets regularly and were struggling at 93-6 in 13.3 overs. But Joshi played a measured knock to win it for his side in the final over.

Earlier, Railways scored 152-5 in their 20 overs. Shivam Chaudhary top-scored for them with 39-ball 48 while Harsh Tyagi played a cameo of 33 not out from just 16 balls.

Punjab vs Jammu and Kashmir

Prabhsimran Singh and Abhishek Sharma slammed half-cebturies as Punjab thrashed J&K by 10 wickets.  Prabhsimran struck 73* off 46 (4 fours & 6 sixes) while Abhishek Sharma scored 59* off 42 (4 fours and 4 sixes) as they made a mockery of J&K bowlers to chase down the target of 140 in 14.3 overs.

Earlier, a collective effort from Punjab restricted J&K to 139-8. Sidharth Kaul was the pick of Punjab bowlers as he took 4 scalps. Shubham Pundhir top-scored for J&K with 42 runs.

Uttar Pradesh vs Tripura

Vice-captain Karan Sharma’s second half-century of the season helped Uttar Pradesh taste their first victory of the tournament as they defeated Tripura by 9 wickets.

Put into bat first, Tripura batsmen couldn’t get any momentum in their innings as they could manage just 122-6 in 20 overs. Shanu Saini and Mohsin Khan picked two wickets.

In reply, Uttar Pradesh chased down the target in just 13.1 overs courtesy Karan Sharma (68* off 36) and Suresh Raina (36* off 23).

Brief scores:

Railways 152-5 (Shivam Chaudhary 48 (39); Prasidh Krishna 4-0-25-2)

Karnataka 158-8 in 19.4 overs (Aniruddha Joshi 64* (40); Pradeep Poojar 4-0-19-3)

Karnataka won by 2 wickets

Jammu and Kashmir 139-8 in 20 overs (Shubham Pundhir 42 (34); Sidharth Kaul 4-0-33-4)

Punjab 140-0 in 14.3 overs (Prabhsimran Singh 73* (46), Abhishek Sharma 59* (42))

Punjab won by 10 wickets

Tripura 122-6 in 20 overs (Milind Kumar 48 (49); Shanu Saini 4-0-16-2)

Uttar Pradesh 123-1 in 13.1 overs (Karan Sharma 68* (36); Ajoy Sarkar 4-0-29-1)

Uttar Pradesh won by 9 wickets


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button