SMAT 2021: Punjab qualifies for knockouts; Shreyas Gopal keeps Karnataka hopes alive

Punjab vs Tripura

Punjab secured top position in Group ‘A’ finishing with 5 wins in 5 matches.

Punjab got off to a poor start after they were put into bat by Tripura. Openers Abhishek Sharma (0) and Prabhsimran Singh (9) departed early but brilliant knocks from captain Mandeep Singh (99* off 66) and vice-captain Gurkeerat Singh (66 off 33) helped them set a total of 183.

Tripura were never in the chase and could manage just 161 in their 20 overs. Milind Kumar top-scored with an unbeaten 40-ball 64.

Karnataka vs Uttar Pradesh

Karnataka kept their hopes alive with another win a close contest.

Karnataka spin trio of J.Suchith (3/21), Pravin Dubey (3/15) and Shreyas Gopal (1/22) helped Karnataka restrict Uttar Pradesh to 132-8. Openers Abhishek Goswami (47 off 32) and Karan Sharma (41 off 29) gave UP a solid start adding 69 runs in 8.2 overs. But middle order of Uttar Pradesh flopped once again as they could manage just 41 runs in their final 10 overs.

Karnataka chased down the target in the final over with allrounder Shreyas Gopal starring with an unbeaten 47 off 28 balls. For UP, Karan Sharma took 2 wickets for 23 runs in his four overs.

With this win, Karnataka finished second in Group ‘A’ and are still in contention for a spot in the quarterfinals. They will have to depend on results from other groups as only two teams other than the table toppers from each group will make it to the final eight. Uttar Pradesh had a disastrous campaign and they lost 4 out of their 5 games to finish 5th out of the 6 teams.

Jammu and Kashmir vs Railways

Put into bat first, Railways got off to a great start. Openers Mrunal Devdhar (57 off 48) and Pratyush Singh (42 off 31) added 104 runs in 12.2 overs. But J&K bowlers made a brilliant comeback to restrict Railways to 133-9 in 20 overs. Umran Malik took 3 wickets for 24 runs.

In reply, J&K chased down the target comfortably in 15.5 overs losing just 3 wickets, courtesy Suryansh Raina 48 (36) and Abdul Samad 36 (22). Karn Sharma took 2 wickets conceding only 17 runs in his 4 overs.

Jammu and Kashmir finished 3rd in Group ‘A’ with 3 wins while Railways finished 4th with 2 wins out of five games.

Brief Scores:

Punjab 183-3 in 20 overs (Mandeep Singh 99* (66); A Sarkar 4-0-30-1)

Tripura 161-4 in 20 overs (Milind Kumar 64* (40); Sandeep Sharma 4-0-21-1)

Punjab won by 22 runs

Karnataka vs Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh 132-8 in 20 overs (Abhishek Goswami 47 (32); Pravin Dubey 4-0-15-3)

Karnataka 136-5 in 19.3 overs (Shreyas Gopal 47* (28); Karan Sharma 4-0-23-2)

Karnataka won by 5 wickets

Railways 133-9 in 20 overs (Mrunal Devdhar 57 (48); Umran Malik 3-24)

Jammu and Kashmir 135-3 in 15.5 overs (Suryansh Raina 48 (36); Karn Sharma 2-17)

Jammu & Kashmir won by 7 wickets


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button