SMAT 2021: Tamil Nadu qualify for quarterfinals finishing on top of Group B; Bengal knocked out

(CAB) Jagadessan shines as Tamil nadu qualify for knockouts

Narayan Jagadeesan continued his superb form with the bat to smash an unbeaten 71 to help Tamil Nadu emerge as group champions and nullify Bengal’s chances of qualifying for the knockouts with a 8-wickets victory in Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy today at Eden Gardens.

Put to bat first Bengal scored 163/8 thanks to Kaif Ahamed’s maiden half-century and reply TN finished the day at 167/2 with 2 overs left to play.

While chasing Jagadeesan and Karthik built a match-winning 110-run partnership after Arun Karthik set the stage with a 20-ball 30.

Karthik scored 47 not out off 37 deliveries while Jagadeesan’s unbeaten 71 came off 45 balls crafted with 4 sixes and 6 boundaries.

Earlier Bengal lost Vivek Singh (7) early off B Aparajith while Suvankar Bal (14) and Shreevats Goswami (21) went back quickly too while trying to counterattack and Bengal got reduced to 54/3.

Shahbaz Ahamed (2) and experienced campaigner Manoj Tiwary (7) were also became victims of a run-out off Shahrukh Kahn’s direct hit and stumped by Dinesh Karthik respectively.

After being reduced to 87/5 Bengal skipper Anustup Majumdar and youngster Kaif stiched a crucial 56-run partnership as the Bengal skipper went back scoring 34 off 22 balls while Kaif stayed unbeaten till the end on 63.

Aparajith bagged 2 wickets for TN while Murugan Ashwin, Sai Kishore and Periyasamy picked up 1 wicket apiece.


Jharkahnd beat Hyderabad in super over

Jharkahnd defeated Hyderabad in super over in a nail-biting encounter in Syed Mushtaq Ali tournament today at Eden Gardens.

After Vikash Singh (1) levelled the score off the last ball for Jharkhand, Ishan Kishan’s men batted first in the one-over eliminator and scored 23 for no loss off Rakshan Reddy while Hyderabad were restricted to 14/1.

Earlier put to bat first Hyderabad top order failed to perform while B Sandeep(37), Buuddhi Rahul (26) helped them reach a fighting total of 139/8 while Ajay Dev Goud bagged 4 wickets for Hyderabad while defending and managed to keep the scores level.

Needing 3 runs to win off the last two balls Jharkhand lost two players to consecutive runouts but thankfully gathered 2 runs to take it to the one-over eliminator.

For Jharkhand Vikash and Vivek Tiwary bagged 3 wickets apiece.


Subhransu hands Odisha first win

Subhransu Senapati helped Odisha clinch their only victory in the Syed Mushtaq Ali tournament by smashing a match-winning 64 off 48 balls to beat Assam by 4 wickets today at JU Second Campus ground in Kolkata.

Electing to bat first Assam could only amass 148/5 in their quota of 20 overs thanks to skipper Riyan Parag once again who hit a quickfire 26-ball 42 while Subhransu helped Odisha finish on 154/6 with one over left to play.

After Riyan went back Saahil Jain and Rajjakuddin Ahmed played two useful knocks of 24 and 32 respectively while Govinda Poddar continued his form by bagging 2 wickets 28 runs.

Pratik Das played a small cameo of 6-ball 20 to save Odisha from finishing pointless.




Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button