Two former IPL stars included in Netherlands T20 World Cup squad

By Amit Shukla

Netherlands announced their squad for the upcoming T20 World cup on Friday. Colin Ackermann, Roelof van der Merwe and Ryan Ten Doeschate, who could not play in their recent series against Scotland and Ireland due to County commitments, have also been included in the squad.

The Netherlands are the only Associate team in the CWC Super League where they qualified by winning the 2015-2017 WCL Championship. The Netherlands got off to a good start by winning 2 out of 3 matches against their arch-rivals Ireland. Most cricket fans would remember Netherlands due to their 2 famous wins over England in the T20 World cups in 2009 and 2014 and the epic chase of 193 in just 13.4 overs against Ireland in the T20 World cup in 2014 where they had to chase down 190 in 14 overs to qualify for Super 10.

Netherlands were the winners of the T20 World cup qualifiers in 2019 and they are placed in Group A in the qualifying round with Sri Lanka, Ireland and Namibia.

The Dutch team has plenty of County professionals in their lineup and will be aiming to qualify for Super 12. If the Netherlands manage to top their pool, they will get another crack at England in the T20 World Cup.

Some players to watch out for include all-rounder Colin Ackermann, who is known for having the best bowling figures in T20 cricket and being the only bowler till now in T20 cricket to take a 7 wicket haul when he took 7/18 for Leicestershire against Birmingham in England’s domestic T20 tournament in 2019. Colin Ackermann is mostly a batting all-rounder and has scored 3051 runs in 135 T20 matches at an average of 27 and a strike rate of 121, besides taking 68 wickets at an average of 28 and an economy rate of 7.22.

Another player to watch out for is the veteran Ryan Ten Doeschate, who has also played in the IPL for Kolkata Knight Riders. Given a minimum qualification of 1500 runs, Ryan Ten Doeschate has the highest batting average in ODIs with 1541 runs @67 and he has also picked 55 wickets in 33 ODIs at an average of 24. In T20 cricket overall, Ryan Ten Doeschate has 7597 runs in 380 matches at an average of 29 and a strike rate of 133, besides 114 wickets at an average of 25 and an economy rate of 8.16.

Former South African all-rounder Roelof van der Merwe qualified for the Netherlands based on his Dutch ancestry and he has been a key player for the Netherlands after making his Dutch debut in 2015. In 43 T20I matches, which includes 30 matches for the Netherlands and 13 matches for South Africa, RVD Merwe has taken 54 wickets at an average of 17 and has an impressive economy rate of 6.28. With the bat, RVD Merwe has scored 454 runs at an average of 26 and a strike rate of 131. 36-year-old Merwe was part of Royal Challengers Bangalore squad from 2009-2010 and then represented Delhi Daredevils from 2011-2013.

The Netherlands also have a quite impressive pace attack with the likes of Timm van der Gugten, Logan van Beek, Paul van Meekeren, Fred Klaasen, Brandon Glover in their lineup, all of whom are regulars in County Cricket.

Full squad:


Bas de Leede (RHB, RM)
Ben Cooper (RHB)
Max O’Dowd (RHB)
Stephan Myburgh (LHB)


Scott Edwards (RHB)


Pieter Seelaar (c) (RHB, SLA)
Colin Ackermann (RHB, OB)
Ryan Ten Doeschate (RHB, RMF)
Roelof van der Merwe (RHB, SLA)


Philippe Boissevain (RHB, LB)


Paul van Meekeren (RHB, RFM)
Timm van der Gugten (RHB, RFM)
Brandon Glover (RHB, RF)
Fred Klaasen (RHB, LMF)
Logan van Beek (RHB, RMF)

Ireland announce squad for T20 World Cup, Indian origin Simi Singh included


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button